This website requires JavaScript.
articles

How to Delete Pages and Move Notion Workspaces

allapplenews-author-ryan-anand
Ryan Anand
23K Views

| 10 days ago

allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

Have you finished with a project but keep getting notifications that don't concern you anymore? Try cleaning up your Notion workspace by either deleting or moving your pages—it's easy

Decluttering your Notion workspace gives you a clear mindset to begin your next project. You can delete old pages or inactive workspaces with a few simple steps!

How to Delete Pages in Notion

The "Trash" function in Notion is a handy tool to help stay organized.

When you delete a page in your workspace, it does not permanently delete it. The deleted page moves to "Trash," and it will stay there until you manually delete it, again. So, the "Trash" can act as an archival space, too. Not to worry, as there is a way to delete and restore your pages in Notion.

If you want to delete or move your Notion workspace instead, we have a different guide to show you how to do that.

Continue reading to learn how to delete, find, and restore pages in Notion!

To Delete Pages in Your Notion Workspace

  1. Hover over the page in your left sidebar.
  2. Click the "•••" icon.
  3. Select "Delete" from the menu
  4. Other ways to delete your pages include:
  5. Dragging any page or content block into the Trash.
  6. Selecting any page block and press the backspace or delete keys.
  7. Hovering over a sub-page on an existing page to delete it by clicking on the ⋮⋮ icon (or right-click) to see the option to delete it.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

To Permanently Delete Pages in Notion

  1. Go to "Trash."
  2. Locate the page you want to permanently delete.
  3. Find the "Trash" icon next to the page you want to delete to permanently remove it.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

To Find Pages in Your Notion Trash

  1. Click to open and view the "Trash" files. You will either see:
  2. All Pages: A compilation of all the pages deleted from your workspace.
  3. Current Page: The sub-pages are deleted from the page you are currently viewing.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

To Restore Deleted Pages in Your Workspace

  1. Open your "Trash."
  2. Find the deleted page you want to recover.
  3. Click on the curved arrow icon next to it to restore the page to its original form.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

Good To Know

You cannot empty your trash instantaneously. You have to delete each page individually in your trash.

How to Delete or Move a Notion Workspace

If deleting old pages isn't enough and your workspace is still a mess, you can also move your workspaces if you change emails. Sometimes starting with a blank slate is the only feasible option, and that's okay, too!

If you created a new account, you could also transfer your existing workspace without losing your notes, templates, and other data.

Keep reading to learn how to delete and move your workspaces in Notion.

To Delete a Workspace on Your Notion Account

  1. Go to Settings & Members on the left sidebar.
  2. Click Settings in the sidebar under "Workspace."
  3. Scroll until you see "Danger Zone."
  4. Select "Leave Workspace" or "Delete Entire Workspace"
  5. Leave Workspace: You can leave a workspace if you are not an admin. The workspace will disappear from your sidebar.
  6. Delete Entire Workspace: This will delete the entire workspace for you and all other collaborators. This process is permanent.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

To Move a Workspace on Your Notion Account

  1. Consolidate all the content and data you want to move into a temporary top-level workspace.
  2. Click the "•••" icon next to the temporary top-level page in your sidebar.
  3. Select "Share" at the top right corner to give your other account access to the page.
  4. Enter the email address for your New Account to move your workspace.
  5. Choose "Full Access" from the dropdown.
  6. Log into your New Account to accept all the content and data you shared from your Old Account.
  7. Click on the "Name" of your workspace at the top of your sidebar.
  8. Open the top-level page that you just shared and select all the sub-pages.
  9. Select the "⋮⋮" icon and "Move To" to choose the new destination workspace to move them.
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces
allapplenews-delete-pages-move-workspaces

Remember:

When you move top-level pages, all their sub-pages go with them.

Notion

Productivity

Your all-in-one workspace for school, work and life.

Want products news and updates?

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.