Since the introduction of Twitter Fleets on November 17, 2020, Twitter users have noticed a bug that allows the fleets to be accessed long after the promised 24-hour expiration time.
To find out what Fleets are and how the Twitter-verse has been affected by this bug, keep reading!
Fleets, Twitter's new way to join the conversation by sharing your fleeting thoughts through text, sharing a Tweet, recording a video, or posting a photo. To share a Tweet in Fleet, all you have to do is tap the "Share" icon and then tap "Share in Fleet."
Similar to Instagram or Snapchat stories, all your Fleets will be live for 24 hours at the top of your Twitter home timelines.
Anyone who can view your profile can see your Fleets, and your Fleets can be replied to via Direct Messages by those who can reply to them. To reply to a Fleet, tap on it and reply with your text or emoji reaction.
Also, similar to Instagram or Snapchat stories, you can see who views your Fleets by tapping on the "Seen By."
Learn more about how Fleets work here.
Fleet Bug Eats Away After 24-Hour Period
In a series of tweets, a Twitter user detailed the bug and how it allowed for Fleets to be accessed long after the 24-hour window.
The dangers of the bug dangers are that it allows anyone to access and download a user's fleets without notifying the user, promoting an archive alert for Twitter users.
In response, a Twitter spokesperson has said,
We’re aware of a bug accessible through a technical workaround where some Fleets media URLs may be accessible after 24 hours. We are working on a fix that should be rolled out shortly.
Twitter has since let users know that the bug fix will permit Fleets to stay for up to 30 days amongst servers or if the Fleet has violated any Twitter rules.
Download HD iPhone Wallpapers for Free Now
Want products news and updates?